The South African Constitution was adopted after a confirmation process led by the Constitutional Court of South Africa. For the first time, the Constitution included a Bill of Rights for the country. The Preamble to the Constitution states:

“We therefore, through our freely elected representatives, adopt this Constitution as the supreme law of the Republic so as to – … lay the foundations for a democratic and open society in which government is based on the will of the people and every citizen is equally protected by law”.

In 1996, the first set of TRC hearings took place in East London. In addition, the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) was formally established.

The Board of OSF-SA identified education as a key priority with a focus on mathematics and science. The Maths, Science and Technology (MST) Initiative was established, first for the Northern Province and Eastern Cape (two of SA’s poorest provinces at the time). In addition, OSF-SA initiated the Maths Learning and Teaching Initiative (MALATI), which brought together leading maths curriculum developers to produce integrated teaching programmes, classroom materials, and learning assessments. An Advisory Committee was also established to support this work.

The Community Radio Programme continued and expanded its work. In 1996, OSF-SA also entered the field of providing support for access to the Internet with a focus on improving connectivity. The Board also took a decision to commence support of small and micro entrepreneurs via training efforts to address poverty and unemployment in South Africa.

Justice Richard Goldstone, delivered the third Open Society Lecture.

1996 grants: 62